

PRESS RELEASE 13 March 2008

FINALISTS ANNOUNCED FOR HOUSING AWARDS

New homes which form part of high quality and sustainable communities have made it to the

final stages of a major national awards scheme.

Entries from nineteen Scottish home builders have been shortlisted by an independent

judging panel, headed by Scotland's Chief Planner Jim Mackinnon, for the annual Homes for

Scotland Quality Awards. (A full list of categories and shortlisted companies follows).

Embracing the Scottish Government's place-making agenda, the focus for the awards in

2008 is on "Designing Places" and the competition has clearly been eagerly embraced by the

organisation's members who submitted a record number of entries in the categories of urban,

rural and masterplanning.

Winners of this year's awards will be announced by Sally Magnusson in front of more than

750 guests and the Minister for Communities Stewart Maxwell at Homes for Scotland's

Annual Lunch, the premier event in the Scottish home building industry's calendar, on Friday

9 May.

Homes for Scotland represents companies building 95% of the country's new homes. Chief

Executive Jonathan Fair said:

"Our annual awards were introduced in 2001 in order to improve standards and promote best

practice within the industry. Having gone from strength to strength every year, they are

unrivalled in terms of national reach, credibility and in addressing the issues that matter to

the industry's many stakeholders."

Ends



HOMES FOR SCOTLAND QUALITY AWARDS 2008 "DESIGNING PLACES" SHORTLIST

Urban Large

(sponsored by Premier Guarantee)

Bellway Homes, Parade Park, Denniston, Glasgow
Bellway Homes, Mondrian, Maryhill, Glasgow
Bryant Homes East, Hopetoun Village, Edinburgh
The Burrell Company, Upper Strand, Edinburgh
CALA Homes, Grandholm Village, Aberdeen
CALA Homes, Canniesburn, Bearsden, Glasgow
Highmore Homes (formerly Kenmore Homes), The Waterfront, Greenock
McCarthy & Stone, Eden Court, Coupar
Miller Homes West, Tower View, Leverndale, Glasgow
Miller Homes West, Lancefield Quay, Waterfront, Glasgow
Stewart Milne Homes, Elmhill, Aberdeen
Thomas Mitchell Homes, John Knox Road, St Andrews
Strathclyde Homes, G1, Merchant City, Glasgow

Urban Small

(sponsored by Morisons LLP)

Applecross, Eyre Place, Edinburgh Bryant Homes East, Princess Gate, Edinburgh Mactaggart & Mickel, Hillpark Phase 2, Edinburgh Miller Homes East, Edinburgh Quay 2, Edinburgh Tweed Homes, Provost Kirkpatrick Court, Peebles

Rural Large

(sponsored by Forster Roofing)

CALA Homes, Briery Meadow, Haddington Robertson Homes, Lochan Mor, Aviemore

cont/



Rural Small

(sponsored by Harley Haddow Consulting Engineers)

Bryant Homes East, Penicuik CALA Homes, Orchard Lane, Direlton Macfarlane Homes, Rutherford Gardens, West Linton Mactaggart & Mickel, The Grange, Perceton Miller Homes East, Silverwood, Howgate Village

Masterplanning

(sponsored by Paull & Williamsons Solicitors)

The EDI Group for PARC Craigmillar, Greendykes North, Edinburgh The EDI Group for PARC Craigmillar, Wauchope Square, Edinburgh Elphinstone Holdings, the Sustainable Urban Village, Glasgow Highmore Homes (formerly Kenmore Homes North Ltd), Alloa Harbour, Alloa George Wimpey East Scotland & Cruden Homes, Raploch Site 5



Notes to the Editor:

- 1. Homes for Scotland (www.homesforscotland.com) represents the country's home building industry which:
 - is the largest source of private investment in Scotland
 - contributes £5bn to the economy annually
 - builds 20,000 new homes per annum
 - employs 100,000 people
 - is the largest user of the planning system in Scotland
- 2. 68 entries were received from home building member companies of Homes for Scotland in the following categories:

Urban large (sponsored by Premier Guarantee) **Urban small** (sponsored by Morisons LLP) Rural large (sponsored by Forster Roofing) Rural small (sponsored by Harley Haddow Consulting Engineers) Masterplanning (sponsored by Paull & Williamsons Solicitors)

3. The independent judging panel is Chaired by Jim Mackinnon, Scottish Government Chief Planner and further comprises:

Karen Anderson - Chair of the Saltire Society Housing Design Awards Panel Donald Anderson - Consultant and former Leader of Edinburgh Council Fiona McLachlan - Senior Lecturer in Architectural Design & Practice, University of Alistair Stark - Immediate Past Convener, RTPI Scotland Sebastian Tombs - Chief Executive, Architecture + Design Scotland

For further information please contact:

Jennifer Kennedy / Beth Hocking, Homes for Scotland. Tel: 0131 455 8350